3v3 partie deux

moogles_by_staticwind-d4ut7wg

“It’s hard to lead a cavalry charge if you think you look funny on a horse.” – Adlai E. Stevenson II

Healer trauma. It’s real. ʿʿ⁽⁽((⁰ⅈ⁰))⁾⁾ʾʾ

trau·ma

: an injury (as a wound) to living tissue caused by an extrinsic agent

: a disordered psychic or behavioral state resulting from severe mental or emotional stress or physical injury

: an emotional upset <the personal trauma of an executive who is not living up to his own expectations — Karen W. Arenson>

I generally like honest feedback – hearing other players’ opinions on what I am doing correctly and incorrectly is amazing at helping me improve, especially since a lot of my guildies and the players I heal have much more pvp experience than I do. The problem is when the feedback is angry and borderline abusive.

Healing isn’t easy. I don’t know enough about other classes to make comments on the relative difficulty of healing, but I’m pretty sure any player who has played a healer class will agree that it’s definitely not as easy as some non-healers like to make it out to be. It’s true that our JD is pretty straightforward: keep people alive. But just because a mission statement is simple, doesn’t mean it’s easy to achieve. For one thing, we need to be aware of the relative positions of every single other player on the field at the same time. This isn’t too bad in 3v3, but in a 6v6 or 12v12 or rift scenario, trying to keep track of your party members as well as nearby enemies that can cc chain or kill you is a formula for a headache. We’re also under a lot of pressure to prioritize our party members – whether through healer error or other circumstances, it’s not always possible for the whole party to stay alive – healers need to make a lot of split second decisions on who to save and who to sacrifice. More importantly, we’re not perfect – unlike health pots, we’re not infallible and we do have off days.

I know that from a party member’s point of view, the situation is generally fairly simple. You’re a healer. Your one task is to heal. I’m not getting heals. Why aren’t you doing your job. It’s a very understandable thought process and I can definitely understand why you would feel angry. But, on the other hand, calling your healer names, or harshly criticizing their ability to play, while it may make you feel better at the moment, can cause the other player a lot of pain and stress. I’ve been on the receiving end of this type of criticism once or twice ● ﹏☉ and I’ve also heard rumors about certain players behaving in this manner. What I will end up doing is avoiding you at all costs. I will not pm you for instances, because I’m afraid of what you will say if I make a mistake and you die. I will not invite you to arena parties, because how you will react to any mistake I make will constantly be at the back of my mind, constantly distracting me from my gameplay and from enjoying the matches. I’ll probably even avoid talking to you as much as possible, because every interaction will be colored by reminders of what you said.

It’s hard to heal if you’re made to think you’re a crappy priest.

*As a side note, the converse is also true. There are players I will drop guild parties for in 12v12 (wargod event) – pretext being there is already another healer in the guild party –  if they need a priest because they have been consistently nice and appreciative every time I heal them (shout-out to Goat from Oblivion~ (ɔ˘з˘)ɔ )

srsbzns aside~ here is another 3v3 video!

Party Members:

Inorin – frost mage – Eminence

Axode – lycan edge/dark sin – Eminence

The 2nd song is a slight jab at the team we’re facing (TendouPain, Aooni, Mellonaria) – I’m afraid I don’t have too much respect for lowbie farmers (partly because a close friend really hates that lowbie team) – “The game I play, you can’t afford to compete in” is basically what the song is saying ┐(´-`)┌

Leave a Reply

